How it works
Version Management works through a combination of environments and versions.
An environment is a place to test different versions of your zone configurations.
- Development: Meant to validate that changes work correctly. The default are that the
cf.zone.namematches your zone name, the
Edge Server IPis a specific value, and the request contains a cookie with
- Staging: Meant to test changes before sending them to Production. The default are that the
cf.zone.namematches your zone name and the
Edge Server IPis a specific value.
- Production: Meant to hold all settings applied to your zone. You cannot edit the - which are just that the
cf.zone.nameis equal to your zone’s name - and cannot delete this environment. This environment has a read-only check enabled, so versions promoted to this environment will become read-only as well.
When you a new version, that version will be available to apply to your Development environment (or whatever environment has the lowest rank). Once you test a version in your Development environment, you would promote that version to the Staging environment and - with no issues - then promote it to Production.
- Version Zero, think about this as the configurations of your current zone. Part of your products currently visible in the navigation are going to be displayed under Versions and the other ones under Global Settings. Once default environments are created, Version Zero is automatically deployed to them, guaranteeing no disruption in your live traffic. This Version is also permanently editable. In case you decide to disable Zone Versioning, Version Zero will become your zone again.
- Global Settings, you can find all the settings here that are not supported by Version Management.
On the Environments page, you can create default environments for Production, Staging, and Development.
When your version is ready, you would then test and promote it through various environments until it reaches Production (or whatever your final environment is).